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15-302. Admission to practice. 1 

A. Time for admission. Applicants who have qualified for admission and applicants 2 

who are being admitted with conditions set by the Supreme Court shall be granted a license to 3 

practice law in all the courts of this state. Applicants will be admitted at the next regular session 4 

of the Supreme Court [next] following fulfillment by the applicant of all requirements of these 5 

rules. Successful applicants shall arrange with the court clerk to present themselves for admission 6 

within six (6) months after notification that they have satisfied all requirements for admission or 7 

follow the requirements for out-of-state swearing-in, as prescribed by the Board of Bar Examiners. 8 

[Upon] On good cause presented in writing prior to expiration of [such] the six (6) month period, 9 

the [board] Board of Bar Examiners may extend the period for admission. Applicants who fail to 10 

present themselves or apply for an extension within the period above fixed, or who fail to arrange 11 

for out-of-state swearing-in as prescribed by the Board of Bar Examiners, will be deemed to have 12 

abandoned their application for admission. 13 

B. Reinstatement from inactive status or suspension under Rule 24-102 NMRA. 14 

 (1) A member of the bar who has been on inactive status and in good standing 15 

in the state bar for a period of more than one (1) year [or more] under the Rules Governing the 16 

New Mexico Bar who wishes to return to active status  shall be required to file an application for 17 

reinstatement to active status with the Board of Bar Examiners for recommendation to the Supreme 18 

Court, and shall be required to pay to the Board of Bar Examiners a fee of three hundred fifty 19 

dollars ($350.00), plus any reasonable additional expenses, [attorneys] attorney fees, and costs in 20 

connection with any investigations and hearings as the [board] Board of Bar Examiners deems 21 

necessary. Reinstatement shall be recommended upon a showing that the applicant satisfies all 22 

applicable requirements for an active status attorney in New Mexico. Upon receipt of a 23 
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recommendation for reinstatement from the Board of Bar Examiners, the clerk of the Supreme 1 

Court shall issue a certificate of reinstatement to active status unless otherwise ordered by the 2 

Supreme Court. 3 

 (2) A member of the bar who has been suspended under Rule 24-102 NMRA 4 

and has been referred to the Board of Bar Examiners under Rule 24-102(F)(2) NMRA, who wishes 5 

to be reinstated to active status [for a period of one (1) year or more for nonpayment of active 6 

status dues or fees or for non-compliance with MCLE requirements] shall be required to file an 7 

application for reinstatement to active status with the Board of Bar Examiners for recommendation 8 

to the Supreme Court, and shall be required to pay to the Board of Bar Examiners a fee of three 9 

hundred fifty dollars ($350.00), plus any reasonable additional expenses, [attorneys] attorney fees, 10 

and costs in connection with any investigations and hearings as the [board] Board of Bar 11 

Examiners deems necessary. Reinstatement shall be recommended upon a showing that the 12 

applicant has remedied the deficiencies that led to the suspension, paid the reinstatement fee to the 13 

State Bar of New Mexico required under Rule 24-102(F)(1) NMRA, and satisfies all other 14 

applicable requirements for an active status attorney in New Mexico. Upon receipt of a 15 

recommendation for reinstatement from the Board of Bar Examiners, the clerk of the Supreme 16 

Court shall issue a certificate of reinstatement to active status unless otherwise ordered by the 17 

Supreme Court. 18 

 (3) Unless otherwise ordered by the Supreme Court, an applicant for 19 

reinstatement under this paragraph will not be required to take the bar examination. 20 

C. Reinstatement; additional condition. The Supreme Court, as a condition of 21 

reinstatement, may impose a requirement that the applicant enroll in continuing legal education 22 
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classes or a bar review course or any other requirement that the Supreme Court may deem 1 

necessary. 2 

[As amended, effective November 1, 1994; as amended by Supreme Court Order No. 15-8300-3 

018, effective November 1, 2015; as amended by Supreme Court Order No. 16-8300-035, effective 4 

for status changes on or after December 31, 2016; as amended by Supreme Court Order No. 21-5 

8300-030, effective December 31, 2021.] 6 


