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14-1701.  Arson; with purpose of destroying or damaging property; essential 1 

elements. 2 

 For you to find the defendant guilty of arson [as charged in Count __________]1, 3 

the state must prove to your satisfaction beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following 4 

elements of the crime: 5 

1. The defendant intentionally or maliciously [started a fire] [or] [caused an 6 

explosion]2; 7 

2. The defendant did so with the intent to destroy or damage 8 

__________________ (identify property), which belonged to another; [and which had a 9 

[market]3 value of over $________] 10 

3. The defendant caused over $__________3 in damage to the property; and 11 

[3.]4. This happened in New Mexico on or about the _________ day of 12 

_____________, __________. 13 

 14 

USE NOTES 15 

 1. Insert the count number if more than one count is charged. 16 

 2. Use applicable bracketed phrase. 17 

 3. [Unless the property has no market value, this bracketed word should be 18 

used and UJI 14-1707 also given. ]If the charge is a second degree felony (over $20,000), 19 

use “$20,000” in the blank. If the charge is a third degree felony (over $2,500), use 20 

“$2,500” in the blank. If the charge is a fourth degree felony (over $500), use “$500” in 21 
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the blank. If the charge is a misdemeanor (over $250), use “$250” in the blank. 1 

[As amended by Supreme Court Order No. 10-8300-039, effective December 31, 2010; as 2 

amended by Supreme Court Order No. 20-8300-004, effective for all cases pending or filed 3 

on or after December 31, 2020.] 4 

 Committee commentary. — See NMSA 1978, § 30-17-5[ NMSA 1978]. The 5 

prior statute, N.M. Laws 1963, ch. 303, § 17-5, which made criminal the “intentional 6 

damaging by any explosive substance or setting fire to” certain structures, was held 7 

unconstitutional in State v. Dennis, 1969-NMCA-036, 80 N.M. 262, 454 P.2d 276 [(Ct. 8 

App. 1969)]. Since both the New Mexico statute prior to 1963 (N.M. Laws 1927, ch. 61, § 9 

1) and common-law arson required a willful and malicious state of mind, the [court] Court 10 

concluded that the [legislature] Legislature intended to eliminate that element. The [court] 11 

Court held that to eliminate this mental element was not a reasonable exercise of the police 12 

power by the [legislature] Legislature since the statute then made criminal what could be a 13 

burning for innocent and beneficial purposes. 14 

[As amended by Supreme Court Order No. 10-8300-039, effective December 31, 2010; as 15 

amended for stylistic compliance by Supreme Court Order No. 20-8300-004, effective for 16 

all cases pending or filed on or after December 31, 2020.] 17 


