
CHECKLIST FOR 
APPLICATION AND DOCUMENTS REQUIRED UNDER RULE 15-301.1

FOR PUBLIC EMPLOYEE LIMITED LAW LICENSE

1. Application for a Limited License (sample attached).

2. A letter from the governmental agency authority certifying applicant’s employment with a
qualifying governmental entity.

3. Original certificate of good standing from all states in which admitted.  All certificates of good
standing must be issued and dated within thirty (30) days of the date the limited law license
application is submitted to the Supreme Court.

4. A certificate (statement) by the applicant that the applicant (1) has read and is familiar with the
New Mexico Rules of Professional Conduct, the Creed of Professionalism of the State Bar of
New Mexico, and rules of the Supreme Court of New Mexico and New Mexico statutes
relating to the conduct of attorneys; and (2) has applied for a character and fitness investigation
with the New Mexico Board of Bar Examiners in conformance with Rules 15-104(A) and (C)
and 15-301 NMRA.

5. Proof of age (must be 18 years of age).  A statement by the applicant that they are 18 years of
age or more is satisfactory.  (This may be included in the certificate referenced in paragraph 4
above.)

6. Proof of graduation from law school.  A statement by the applicant containing the name of the
law school and whether it is ABA accredited is satisfactory.  (This may be included in the
certificate referenced in paragraph 4 above.)

If applicant graduated from a non-ABA accredited law school, the practice requirement must
be certified on a document (may be a certificate of good standing) that states from what date to
what date the applicant has been an active member.  Also, the applicant must set forth the
applicant’s employment history so the N.M. Supreme Court can determine if the applicant
practiced for at least four (4) of the six (6) years immediately preceding the application.

7. $125.00 docket fee - check or money order payable to Supreme Court of New Mexico.

8. A $250.00 fee must be paid directly to the Board of Bar Examiners when submitting the
application for a character and fitness investigation under Rule 15-301.1(C)(3).



SAMPLE APPLICATION

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

In the Matter of the Application of
                         , Esquire,
for a Limited License under
Rule 15-301.1 NMRA of the 
Rules Governing Admission to the Bar

APPLICATION OF                                  , ESQUIRE, FOR A
LIMITED LICENSE UNDER RULE 15-301.1 NMRA

Applicant,                          , Esquire, respectfully requests that this Court issue a Limited
License under Rule 15-301.1 NMRA and represents as follows:

1. Applicant is licensed to practice law in the state(s) of                           .  Attached as Exhibit A
is a certificate of admission to practice and good standing from each state in which I am
admitted.

2. Applicant will be employed by                                               , which is a qualified governmental
entity as defined in Rule 15-301.1(A)(3) or (4) NMRA.  Attached as Exhibit B is a letter
certifying my employment.

3. Applicant has signed a certificate verifying that applicant (1) has read and is familiar with the
New Mexico Rules of Professional Conduct, the Creed of Professionalism of the State Bar of
New Mexico, and rules of the Supreme Court of New Mexico and New Mexico statutes
relating to the conduct of attorneys; and (2) has applied for a character and fitness investigation
with the New Mexico Board of Bar Examiners in conformance with Rules 15-104(A) and (C)
and 15-301 NMRA, which certificate is attached as Exhibit C.

4. Applicant acknowledges the responsibility to pay a docket fee in the amount of $125.00 by
check or money order made payable to the Supreme Court of New Mexico, and a $250.00
application fee for a character and fitness investigation payable to the New Mexico Board of
Bar Examiners. 

Having complied with the application process for a public employee limited license, applicant
respectfully requests that this Court issue a Limited License under Rule 15-301.1 NMRA.

Submitted by:

                                                          
Attorney at Law

Date                                   



 SAMPLE

CERTIFICATE IN SUPPORT OF APPLICATION FOR RULE 15-301.1 LIMITED LICENSE

I, _______________, hereby certify the following:

• I am over 18 years of age;

• I graduated from _________________ law school, which is an ABA accredited law school;

OR

I graduated from _________________ law school, which is not accredited by the ABA, and
proof of the practice requirement and my employment history are attached.

• I have read and am familiar with the New Mexico Rules of Professional Conduct, the Creed of
Professionalism of the State Bar of New Mexico, and rules of the New Mexico Supreme Court
and New Mexico statutes relating to the conduct of attorneys.

• I have applied for a character and fitness investigation with the New Mexico Board of Bar
Examiners in conformance with Rules 15-104(A) and (C) and 15-301 NMRA.

______________________________
(SIGNATURE)

______________________________   
(DATE)

EXHIBIT C


