This website cannot be viewed properly using this version of Internet Explorer.

To ensure your security while viewing this site, please use a modern browser such as Chrome or update to a newer version of Internet Explorer.

Download Chrome (Made by Google)
Update Internet Explorer (Made by Microsoft)

English Español

Most Popular Pages

The Supreme Court was created in 1912 when New Mexico became a state.

Pen and Ink WellWhen it was first created, the Court was comprised of three Justices. In 1929, the Court expanded to a Court of five. The first three Justices were the Honorable Clarence J. Roberts, Richard H. Hanna, and Frank W.Parker. The newly created fourth and fifth seats in 1929 were first held by the Honorable Charles C. Catron and John F. Simms. The five seats on the Supreme Court are now named after the Justices who first held them and are known as the Carton Seat, the Hanna Seat, the Parker Seat, the Roberts Seat, and the Simms Seat. 

For a complete listing of all Justices since statehood by lineage of each seat, please select from the following:
The Catron Seat (currently held by Justice C.Shannon Bacon)
The Hanna Seat (currently held by Justice Michael E. Vigil)
The Parker Seat (currently held by Justice Barbara J. Vigil)
The Roberts Seat (currently held by Justice Judith K. Nakamura)
The Simms Seat (currently held by Justice David K. Thomson)