Aspen trees in vibrant Fall colors

Supreme Court


Explore Section


Supreme Court Opinions

The Supreme Court generally files opinions on Mondays and Thursdays at 11 a.m. To receive an email notification when a new opinion is filed, you may subscribe to the Supreme Court’s email notification list by sending your name and email address to Learn More

Oral Arguments

The Court generally reserves Mondays and Wednesdays for oral arguments during the second and fourth weeks of each month. Oral arguments are open to the public. Learn More

The Historic New Mexico Supreme Court Building

The Supreme Court of New Mexico is located in the historic Supreme Court Building in downtown Santa Fe, New Mexico, at 237 Don Gaspar Avenue. The Court is situated alongside the Santa Fe River just north of the State Capitol and is one of the premier state capitol buildings listed on the federal, state, and local registries of historic buildings. Learn More

E Filing

Electronic filing comes to the Supreme Court. Learn More

Justices of the Supreme Court of New Mexico

The Supreme Court is comprised of five Justices who serve 8-year terms. Chief Justice Justice C. Shannon Bacon, Justice Michael E. Vigil, Justice David K. Thomson, Justice Julie J. Vargas, Justice Briana H. Zamora. Learn More


Roll of Attorneys Notice

On Monday, June 5, 2023, the Official Roll of Attorneys (Roll) will be at the State Bar of New Mexico, located at 5121 Masthead St. NE, Albuquerque, NM from 9:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.
The Roll is otherwise available for signing in the New Mexico Supreme Court Clerk’s Office. The Clerk’s Office is located at 237 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, New Mexico, and is open from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays.

Signing the Roll is mandatory for all attorneys licensed in New Mexico. For those
attorneys admitted for the first time between April 21, 2020, and June 17, 2022, you must sign
the Roll by June 16, 2023, pursuant to New Mexico Supreme Court Order No. 22-8500-029.
This requirement does not apply to those admitted on a limited license under Rules 15-301.1,
15-301.2, or 15-301.3 NMRA.

Please come in and sign the Roll at the Clerk’s Office, or at the event in Albuquerque.
No appointments are necessary.

If you are an attorney who was admitted to the State Bar of New Mexico between April 21, 2020 – June 17, 2022, you must sign the Official Roll of Attorneys by June 16, 2023!
No appointments necessary! The Roll is available for signing in the Supreme Court Clerk’s Office during normal business hours, excluding Noon to 1 p.m. Address is 237 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM.

Sign the Roll in Albuquerque!

  • After the spring swearing-in ceremony at the UNM School of Law on Monday, May 15, 2023, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. University of New Mexico School of Law, 1117 Stanford Dr. NE, Albuquerque, NM 87106

Learn more.

Let’s improve civics in New Mexico!

Consider this an invitation for students to learn about and witness the role of the judicial system in our democracy by participating in the New Mexico Supreme Court’s third annual Rule of Law Program—a civics education program for students to learn about how the “rule of law” operates and its vital role in a functioning democratic society.

The New Mexico Supreme Court will hear legal arguments in a criminal case appeal on April 3rd at 1 p.m. in State v. King at the Nick Salazar Center for the Arts on the Northern New Mexico College campus in Española, NM.

Click here to learn more about the Rule of Law Program