SAMPLE APPLICATION

IN THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

In Re the Applicant of

, Esquire,

for a Limited License under
Rule 15-301.1 NMRA of the
Rules Governing Admission to

the Bar
APPLICATION OF , ESQUIRE,
FOR A LIMITED LICENSE UNDER RULE 15-301.1
Applicant _, Esquire, respectfully requests that this Court

issue a Limited License under Rule 15-301.1 and represents as follows:

1. Applicant is licensed to practice law in the state(s) of
Certificates of admission to practice and good standing in the state(s) of
is/are attached hereto as “Exhibit A.”

Z; Applicant will be employed by the New Mexico as a full
time attorney. See, attached “Exhibit B,” a letter verifying employment from

3. Applicant also attaches hereto as “Exhibit C,” a signed certificate verifying
that applicant has read and is familiar with the New Mexico Rules of
Professional Conduct and the rules of the Supreme Court of New Mexico
and New Mexico Statutes related to attorney conduct.

4. Applicant acknowledges the responsibility to pay a docket fee in the
amount of $125.00 to the New Mexico Supreme Court and a $150.00
disciplinary fee to the Disciplinary Board. Payment of these two fees is
attached hereto.

Having complied with the application process under Rule 15-301 (B), applicant
respectfully requests that this Court issue a Limited License under Rule 15-301.1

Submitted by:

Attorney-at-Law



SAMPLE CERTIFICATE

CERTIFICATE IN SUPPORT OF APPLICATION FOR RULE 15-301.1 LIMITED LICENSE

l, , hereby certify the following:

¢ | am over 18 years of age;
¢ | graduated from law school, which is an ABA accredited
law school;
OR
| graduated from law school, which is not accredited by

the ABA, and proof of the practice requirement and my employment
history are attached.

¢ | have read and am familiar with the New Mexico Rules of Professional
Conduct, the rules of the New Mexico Supreme Court, and the New Mexico
statutes relating to the conduct of attorneys.

(SIGNATURE)

(DATE)



15-301.1. Public employee limited license. http://public.nmcompcomm.us/nmpublic/gateway.dll/nmsal978/nmra/

15-301.1 . Public employee limited license.
A. Definitions. As used in this rule:
(1) "public employee" means any officer, employee or servant of a governmental entity,
excluding independent contractors;
(2) "governmental entity" means the state or any local public body as defined in
Subparagraphs (3)-and (4) of this paragraph;
(3) "local public body" means all political subdivisions of this state and their agencies,
instrumentalities and institutions;
@) "state agency" means any of the branches, agencies, departments, boards,
instrumentalities or institutions of the state of New Mexico.
B.  Eligibility. Upon application, the clerk of the Supreme Court may issue a limited
non-renewable one (1) year license to an attorney who:
(1) 1is admitted to practice law in another state, territory or protectorate of the United States
or the District of Columbia;
(2) is in good standing to practice law in each state in which the attorney is licensed; and
(3) satisfies the limited license requirements set forth in this rule.

C. Application procedure. An applicant for a limited license to represent public defender
clients or any governmental entity in this state shall file with the clerk of the Supreme Court an
application for limited license which shall be accompanied by:

(1) a certificate of admission to practice and good standing from each state in which the
applicant is licensed to practice law and proof of compliance with Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of
Paragraph B of Rule 15-103 NMRA;

(2) aletter from the head of the governmental entity which has employed the applicant
- certifying employment with that governmental entity;
(3) a certificate signed by the applicant that the applicant has read and is familiar with the
New Mexico Rules of Professional Conduct and rules of the Supreme Court of New Mexico and
the New Mexico statutes relating to the conduct of attorneys; and
(4) adocket fee in the amount of one hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00) payable to the
New Mexico Supreme Court and disciplinary fee in the amount of one hundred fifty dollars
(8150.00) payable to the Disciplinary Board.
All fees and costs associated with an application for limited license are not refundable.
D. License; issuance and revocation.

(1) If an applicant for a limited license to represent public defender clients or a
governmental entity complies with the provisions of this rule, the clerk of the Supreme Court may
issue a limited, one (1) year license to represent public defender clients or practice law as an
employee of a governmental entity. This license shall not be renewed.

(2) A limited license issued pursuant to this rule only permits the licensee to practice law
in New Mexico as a public employee representing public defender clients or a governmental entity.

(3) The clerk shall revoke the limited license of any person found in violation of these
rules, any rule approved by the Supreme Court or any state or federal law. Upon revocation of a
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15-301.1. Public employee limited license. http://public.nmcompcomm.us/nmpublic/gateway.dll/nmsal978/nmra/.

limited license, the applicant shall not appear in any court in this State as an attorney;

E. Expiration. An attorney who is issued a limited license to represent public defender clients
or practice law as an employee of a governmental entity shall take the next New Mexico bar
examination for which the applicant is eligible. A limited license issued pursuant to this rule shall
expire upon occurrence of the earliest of the following events:

(1) the expiration of one (1) year from the date of issuance by the New Mexico Supreme
Court;

(2) notification that the applicant has failed the New Mexico bar exam;

(3) termination of employment with the governmental entity;

(4) failure of the limited licensee to take the next bar examination for which the limited
licensee is eligible;

(5) admission to the New Mexico Bar upon passing the bar examination; or

(6) once a limited license expires or is revoked, an attorney who resides or maintains a
legal residence in this State shall not be admitted to the practice of law for a particular case under
the pro hac vice rules approved by this Court.

F. Limited licensee status. An attorney granted a limited license pursuant to this rule shall
not be a member of the state bar but shall be subject to the Rules of Professional Conduct and the
Rules Governing Discipline. Licensees shall pay the annual disciplinary fee as part of the
application process. A

[Approved, effective June 13, 2000; as amended effective February 28, 2002; October 24,
2003; March 29, 2004; as amended by Supreme Court Order 05-8300-10, effective September 1,
2005.] :
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